Hotpot: May 16th 2013

So many k-pop songs have come and gone since the last ‘hotpot’, and most have faded away into the abyss without even a second glance.  What songs were good enough to break through and make the list this month?

 

1. B1A4’s “What’s Happening/What’s Going On?”

While I didn’t like this song when I first heard it, just a few more listens convinced me that this song absolutely needs to be at the top of my list.  It is sooo B1A4 catchy, but with a few twists here and there that keep it from being another generic k-pop song.  The live performance is even better, with some really crisp choreography that makes this song a real visual FEAST.

2. 2PM’s “A.D.T.O.Y”

I already reviewed this song, but just to reiterate in one word: sexy.

3. 9MUSES’ “WILD”

Perhaps one of the only girl group promotion songs I’ve really liked since SNSD’s “I’ve Got a Boy” , “WILD” has attitude and a melody that doesn’t make me want to throw up.  That’s quite an impressive accomplishment~

4. uBEAT’s “Should Have Treated You Better”

I have a love/hate relationship with this song; on the one hand I find some of it incredibly annoying, and yet I can never tear myself away.  I’ve come to realize that this is actually a very strange and unique quality special to all of UKISS and their songs, at least for me anyway.  I am also extremely confused why Kevin is so heavily featured in this song, which is the DEBUT of UKISS subunit: uBEAT, when he is not even in uBEAT.  Furthermore, why did they not, even in the slightest, take advantage of Eli’s, Kevin’s, and AJ’s wonderful English speaking skills?! (*hint hint* come out with some English singles..!)

5. Shinhwa’s “This Love”

This song JUST came out and let me tell you, I was addicted from the very first listen.  Shinhwa may be old as balls but they are absolute pros in the k-pop industry.  I can actually hear this song being played on popular American radio, if, well, the lyrics were changed to English and it wasn’t sung by a bunch of old Korean dudes dressed in tight leather spandex…America’s just prejudiced in that way 😦  Seriously though, this song is brilliant.

6. Secret’s “Yoo-Hoo”

A rather typical girl group single, but I can’t deny it gets you in that breezy summer mood 😉

Leave a Reply

