Hotpot: April 19th 2013

Introducing….THE HOTPOT SERIES!!

Since life has gotten busier and I haven’t been able to post nearly as much as I would like, I have decided to start posting my current playlist of favorite trending k-pop songs, because well, since they’re songs that I like they all deserve to be mentioned on this blog (but unfortunately, we just don’t have the time to review all of them!).  Moreover, not every great k-pop song has a music video that’s worth talking about, so some of those might find their heyday here as well.  Hotpots will be posted every now and then, as waves of comebacks and debuts find their way to the stage and battle for my heart.  Of course, any and all songs listed may still get reviewed..just know that if they’re by me they’ll most likely be absolutely glowing.

Without further ado, here are the newest k-pop songs that have made it onto my top favorites k-pop playlist!

1. Jay Park – “JOAH”

This song is incredibly cute and catchy, which coming from Jay Park, is actually a bit of a surprise for me.  Honestly, Jay Park has never seemed smoother or more polished than in this most recent comeback, and I’m a fan of the MV’s extremely western feel.  And something about those horns in the musical texture, coupled with Jay Park’s falsetto, just gets me body-rolling all over the place.

2. BTOB’s “2nd Confession”

Wow did this song come out of left field.  BTOB’s just been all over the place in terms of musical style this year; from super generic k-pop (Insane) to some weird retro pop mixing (WOW) and now to some semi-smooth feel-good R&B.  Regardless, I love the beat of this song and while I’m sure most of the impact of the rapping is probably lost on me, I can’t help but smile every time a line comes on.  The chorus sort of takes a turn for cliched Asian pop (Leehom Wang anyone?), but I guess you win some, you lose some.

3. Lunafly’s “Fly to Love”

A nice sound to add to the mix of k-pop currently out there right now, while still keeping true to its k-pop roots.  It has almost a reggae pop feel to it, which can be nice when you’re in that kind of mood.

4. ZE:A5’s “The Day We Broke Up”

This is definitely the most conventional song on the list, with classic cam-whoring and effeminate aegyo peppering the entire music video.  Still, it’s hard to get this melody out of your head, and I’m really excited to see ZE:A branching out with more activity (and coming out with a new subunit!).

5. INFINITE’s “Man In Love”

I already wrote a review on this one, but I still can’t stop listening to this song just yet!

6. M.I.B.’s “Nod Along”

K-pop with a bit of attitude and unmistakable talent, M.I.B. has come out with plenty of great songs in their day.  This is no exception!  They might not dance or wear super flamboyant clothing, but M.I.B. is still a highly underrated band in my opinion.  And Young Cream is flawless (except for his stupid-ass name oh my god).

7. Psy’s “Gentleman”

There’s not much I need to say about this one.

One thought on “Hotpot: April 19th 2013

Leave a Reply

